Eeyore's Thistly Hideaway!

all about me ...

bar

Basic Stuff
My name is Robin Connor. I'm 42, born in 1965. I am married to a (usually) great guy, Robert. We have 2 cats. We live in the Central New York USA area.

Home & Family
I am not close to my family, but I adore my in-laws.
I was adopted when I was 6 months old. I love my adoptive parents and miss both of them dearly since they passed away.
I found my birth mother in November 1995 and wish I never met her, she is a total bitch. She truly believes that a person's net worth / bank account balance defines their value as a human being. (Yep,you guessed it, she's filthy rich. And anyone who isen't rich is scum. This includes me. *sigh*)
I found my birth father and he's a great guy, very real & down to earth. Gosh only knows what he saw in her, although he says she was much different when she was young and poor. I wish I would have been raised by him, he's a really great person. It makes me very sad that I probably won't ever see him again :(
I love cats, and I have 2. I like other people's dogs, but I don't think they're the right pet for me.
I have no kids, and I don't want any. No, I am not waiting for the "right man" to change my mind, I will not have any children. Ever.
I don't really "celebrate" holidays on a large scale, though I want my valentine's day card, lol!

struggles with your inner child

Emotions and Feelings
I'm oversensitive. I'm shy and self-conscious. I like to talk about things that bother me right away, before they grow. I like to be touched and held when being comforted and re-assured, although if you have really hurt me I usually do not want to be touched.
I have a bit of a temper and I often yell when angry. I will snap and say angry things, then usually feel bad about it later and apologize.
I swear more then I would like to, and though I try to stop when tempers flare sometimes pretty bad things are said. (I use the f* word more then I'd like when I get angry -- "trash mouth", as Gretchen calls it)

Ethics and Values
I turned in a lost purse I found in a parking lot of a mall at Christmastime -without- opening it. I believe in living debt free, as much as is possible. I don't park in handicapped spaces EVER. If I was given incorrect change from a bill I would keep the extra money given to me. I don't tip for bad service, I do tip well for great service - you get what you've earned. I wear my seat belt. I don't wear furs, but I do wear leather (cows endangered? get real!).
I like to be in control of my life. My freedom is very important to me, I don't like it when others make choices for me.

Leisure Time and Hobbies
I love storytelling role playing games (like Dungeons & Dragons and In Nomine), and I enjoy gaming with friends. It's my favorite hobby and an all-consuming passion.
I don't usually watch TV, and we don't have cable. I mostly use our TV to watch our huge collection of VCR tapes or DVD's. I prefer DVD's as they are more "durable" and usually have nifty extra stuff in them too. Movies are OK, although I will usually wait to rent or buy the video instead of seeing it in a theater.
I much prefer my CD's or MP3's to the talk and commercials of radio.
Perfect date ideas: the Zoo, the Aquarium, Science Museum, a picnic in the park, thrift store and garage sale shopping, dinner out at a small local diner, comedy shows, playing board or card games at home.

Lifestyle
Robert and I own a home in the city.
My home is basically clean and organized. It may not look organized to you, but I know where to find most things quickly. Housecleaning is something I need to be in the mood for, so it doesn't always get done. As long as it's comfortable, I'm happy. My house smells like candles, incense and cats.
I like being pampered - back or foot rubs are especially nice. I prefer showers, although a bubble bath at the end of a long day is heavenly.

Clothing
I dress practically. I value comfort above looks in clothing. You'll find me in sweatpants or leggings and a tee shirt or tanktop most days.
I wear Timberland hiking boots or Rockport sneakers when it's cold, and Bierkenstock sandals when it's warm. However, I wear name brands for the quality, not for the "status".
I almost never wear makeup outside of work, and I prefer the natural look.
When I am forced to dress up (ick!) I prefer long gowns and a dark colors for social events. I don't ever wear high heels because they are uncomfortable and I don't care if I'm the only woman in the room in flats.

Health and Exercise
Good health is important to me. I believe in 'alternative' health care when available and practical.
From Feb/2003 to Feb/2004 I've lost 75 lbs. As of 07/2006 I've now lost a total of 85 lbs. I'm still slightly overweight and shorter then average. I work out 30-45 minutes of cardio 4-5 times a week. I also enjoy yoga and belly dance.
I have roller bladed before (poorly) & would like my own pair of blades so I can learn to do it well.
I can't swim and have no desire to learn, although I enjoy going to the beach and on water slides.

Jobs and Money
Money really isn't that important to me, as long as we have enough to pay the bills and have some fun.
I received my Associate's Degree in Communication at the University at Buffalo February 1, 1996. I didn't continue on for the 4 year degree because of lack of money and the rising costs every year.
I've had jobs working in fast food places (want fries with that?), retail chain stores (buy 3 get 1 free!), telephone customer service (absolute hell!), as an e-business auction manager, writing commercial & retail web pages and bookkeeping at a gun store.
I'm grateful that I am not working right now ... I prefer staying at home.

Traveling
I love to travel, and wish I could do so more often.
I view my car as an extension of myself and my personality, and decorate it as such. It's covered in stickers and smells like cherry incense, and my trunk is messy. I drive only automatic transmission - never stick. I always lock my car doors and roll the windows up.
When in my car I like loud music when I'm alone, and soft or no music with company because I like to talk.
I like SUV's and Station Wagons. My dream car is a Hummer, although I would be happy with a Jeep Grand Cherokee. I like motorcycles, although I can't drive them I enjoy the ride.

Politics and Beliefs
For the longest time I didn't vote because I felt politicians are all liars. However, Bush pissed me off enough to change all that, and now I do vote. Don't blame me the SOB's in office, I voted against him.
I keep up on world news more then I pay attention to local news.
I believe in justice. I believe in the death penalty.
I recycle because it's the right thing to do, and yes this means even when it's inconvienient. (like taking the empty detergant bottle home from the laundromat for recycling, insted of being lazy and just tossing it in the garbage there.)

True Love
My husband is Robert. We lived together for 7 years, then we got married on December 8th, 2001.
Would you like to see some pictures of us?

 

bar

home Robin's Web

Copyright Robin J Connor 1995-2006. All Rights Reserved.